Creative Rock Storm, Rocking Til The End

I've learned that fear limits you and your vision. It serves as blinders to what may be just a few steps down the road for you. The journey is valuable, but believing in your talents, your abilities, and your self-worth can empower you to walk down an even brighter path. Transforming fear into freedom how great is that? – Soledad O'Brien

Fighting 

I be fighting…. allll the time… for years, since childhood. … Like knock  down drag out, bloody fighting with life stressors, oppressive people, and marginalized systems.

I be fighting with love, my faith, empathy, intellect, observation, my truth, resilency, prayer, my A1 bestfriend squad and my family.

I’m constantly at war with those who hate me. Who say I am Black, Female, Bisexual and thus my life, my voice triplely doesn’t matter. At war with some in my work cohort that openly choose to use their white privilege to victimize and villainize me. All because I refuse to be voiceless. Refuse not to submit to their unearned power and warped truth.

I’m at war with my dreams, my heart, and fear. I both love me and am afraid to be my hodgepodge  of complex identities. I wonder if my resourcefulness, agility  and tactfulness is sufficient enough to help me navigate the  multitudes of hateful loathing.

I find myself fighting to be loved in a world that says my brown skin, full lips and curly hair is undesired. Fighting to have love. To hold onto a whispered dream that love is possible. But instead I protectively grab my armor and weapons because solitude feels safer.

I find myself fighting, kicking, scratching, punching and blocking so much of the time. I’m afraid I will never rest from fighting.

I hope one day I will live infinitely more than I fight.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2016 by in Black Woman, I Dream of Equality, Matters of the Heart, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
Follow Creative Rock Storm, Rocking Til The End on WordPress.com
J

92 cloudz away from Earth

Xicana Ph.D.

Advice, Resources, and Tools for Navigating HE

Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

msktb

Ocelot's journey towards success

Electric Music of the Muses ©️

⏮️the alchemy of prosody⏭️

black girl, create

For the unapologetic, original and carefree black girl

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

Mystic raghaash's Blog

I write what my heart voices

From the Heart to the Mind

Be stupidly awesome

Maverick Mist

Intertwined passions ~

method two madness

a blog of two friends

beckjanewest

Brisbane food blogger with fashion and drinks

African American culture: The Motha Ship Connection

Elevatin - Educatin - Slangin knowledge - Ah'm not here to change your mind. Ah'm here to enlighten it. {Brotha Askari}

Black Millennials

Cultural Empowerment for Black 20somethings

