Creative Rock Storm, Rocking Til The End

I've learned that fear limits you and your vision. It serves as blinders to what may be just a few steps down the road for you. The journey is valuable, but believing in your talents, your abilities, and your self-worth can empower you to walk down an even brighter path. Transforming fear into freedom how great is that? – Soledad O'Brien

The Magic of Emotional Regulation

Emotions

Emotion regulation is the process through which an individual filters their emotions in order to control how they feel and, consequently, communicate these feelings. http://www.psychwiki.com/wiki/Emotion_Regulation

About 5 minutes ago I was feeling emotionally irritated and frustrated, because of another individual’s missed placed power trip over something very trivial. I was being very productive working on my dissertation, jamming out to my Sam Smith Pandora station, when I received this email detailing how I needed to reorganize some folders This came as a surprise to me, because I had already spoken to another person with equal knowledge and position about the correct way to complete this process. Normally this type of email or request wouldn’t phase me… I’m a fan of corrective criticism. However, the email came from a person who has declare dislike of me and has on more than one occasion used slight advance of power at my expense. So there I sat wanting feeling grossly irritated. Then I had this conversation with myself:

Me: Am I hurt?

Me: No, irritated but not physically or emotionally hurt

Me: Is this something I can fix?

Me: Yes, I can reorganize the folders

Me: Is there incorrect or ambiguous information that I could challenge this person about?

Me: Yes there is, but this isn’t about the information, the situation it is about the power challenge

Me: Is this a battle worth fighting?

Me: No what is the point of fighting? What would I get from fighting?

Me: Victory!

Me: Can I be victories and not fight?

Me: What would it cost me to fight?

Me: More interaction with the person, possibly additional trouble, continued irritation

Me: Do I want to continue to feel irritated?

Me: Not at all

Me: Do I really care? Does this power trip situation deserve my time and emotional reaction?

Me: Nah, I’ll pass, much more interesting things to do

Me: I’m not going to battle over something I don’t really care about, there is victory in my indifference.

Me: Zero fucks now given


Email Response: Thanks for looking over everything, I’ll correct them.


Back to Sam Smith & Writing……….

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2015 by in Matters of the Heart and tagged , , .
Follow Creative Rock Storm, Rocking Til The End on WordPress.com
J

92 cloudz away from Earth

Xicana Ph.D.

Advice, Resources, and Tools for Navigating HE

Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

msktb

Ocelot's journey towards success

Electric Music of the Muses ©️

⏮️the alchemy of prosody⏭️

black girl, create

For the unapologetic, original and carefree black girl

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

Mystic raghaash's Blog

I write what my heart voices

From the Heart to the Mind

Be stupidly awesome

Maverick Mist

Intertwined passions ~

method two madness

a blog of two friends

beckjanewest

Brisbane food blogger with fashion and drinks

African American culture: The Motha Ship Connection

Elevatin - Educatin - Slangin knowledge - Ah'm not here to change your mind. Ah'm here to enlighten it. {Brotha Askari}

Black Millennials

Cultural Empowerment for Black 20somethings

