Creative Rock Storm, Rocking Til The End

I've learned that fear limits you and your vision. It serves as blinders to what may be just a few steps down the road for you. The journey is valuable, but believing in your talents, your abilities, and your self-worth can empower you to walk down an even brighter path. Transforming fear into freedom how great is that? – Soledad O'Brien

The Free Spirit in Me

The free spirit in me wants to fly away.

To be surrounded by open minded creative hipsters.

She wants to travel & see that there are others who are seeking unpopular truth.

She wants to live in a place where others differences are appreciated & love is celebrated.


I try to indulge her with creative lyrical music, natures beauty, spoken word, & readings.

I keep trying to buy her time, pacify her with small moments of freedom, and fantasies.


But ultimately I end up suppressing her and locking her away deep within in myself.

I am sorry that I am ashamed & afraid of your looseness and do not cherish you.

Sorry you live in the cage of my insecurities & others expectations.


I hope one day you can soar high and be free to travel in life.

I hope that in loving you I too can be free.

Simply, Courageously & Wonderfully

Free

by R. Young

by R. Young

7 comments on “The Free Spirit in Me

  1. woundstofeel
    March 22, 2015

    Me too…

    Like

    • mgthatsme
      March 22, 2015

      Thanks for reading. Hopefully one day we can both be free!

      Liked by 1 person

      • woundstofeel
        March 22, 2015

        We will! Just have to keep working through all this mess…

        Like

      • mgthatsme
        March 22, 2015

        agreed!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. AmazinglyBrash
    April 5, 2015

    Freedom is an action, so many seek it in words but they must model those words, to feel each syllable. Live the written work, bring life to every letter. Be free….I enjoyed your piece.

    Like

    • mgthatsme
      April 6, 2015

      Thanks for your comment and words of wisdom! Where I found myself in writing this piece was caught in-between awareness and taking baby steps of action. I think this stage is just another part of my life journey. I am looking forward to infinitive moments filled with freedom and that is what keeps me motivated.

      Like

      • AmazinglyBrash
        April 6, 2015

        Well, i am glad you are starting to walk. So many people live their lives think, but “doing” will be how we measure our results. We are worthy of freedom but we must believe in the act of being free.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2015 by in Life Matters, Matters of the Heart, Words and Writings and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow Creative Rock Storm, Rocking Til The End on WordPress.com
Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

msktb

Ocelot's journey towards success

Electric Music of the Muses ©️

⏮️the alchemy of prosody⏭️

black girl, create

For the unapologetic, original and carefree black girl

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

Mystic raghaash's Blog

I write what my heart voices

From the Heart to the Mind

Be stupidly awesome

Maverick Mist

Intertwined passions ~

method two madness

a blog of two friends

beckjanewest

Brisbane food blogger with fashion and drinks

African American culture: The Motha Ship Connection

Elevatin - Educatin - Slangin knowledge - Ah'm not here to change your mind. Ah'm here to enlighten it. {Brotha Askari}

Black Millennials

Cultural Empowerment for Black 20somethings

The Progressive Black Collective

Change Agents. Empowering People and Communities.

melanin774

Darker the berry, sweeter the juice...

